More Details

Selected Stories of Lu Xun

Buy Now

ISBN: 9787119026985
Teamway Price: 5.00
Author:Lu Xun
Publisher: Foreign Languages Press Jan 1, 2000
Format: Paperback
Remark: Bilingual Edition
Stock: In stock

Lu Xun is arguably not the greatest writer of modern China but his passion to truly work toward the health of the nation, was to diagnose the nation as an author rather than a physician. He abandoned the study of medicine because he thought he could change society through his writings. Most of his short stories were written between 1918 and 1925; but he perfected his essay style in the 1930s, when he resided in Shanghai. Most of his essays are incorporated in the textbooks of elementary and high schools in China. These stories include "A Madmans Diary", "Kong Yiji", Medicine", "A Small Incident", "Storm in a Teacup", "My Old Home", "Village Opera", "The New Year Sacrifice", "In the Tavern", "A Happy Family", "The Misanthrope", "Regret for the Past", "Forging the Swords".